Skip to content

Do not use what I am about to teach you

September 19, 2011

I am gearing up to teach Structural Equation Modeling this fall term. (We are on quarters, so we start late — our first day of classes is next Monday.)

Here’s the syllabus. (pdf)

I’ve taught this course a bunch of times now, and each time I teach it I add more and more material on causal inference. In part it’s a reaction to my own ongoing education and evolving thinking about causation, and in part it’s from seeing a lot of empirical work that makes what I think are poorly supported causal inferences. (Not just articles that use SEM either.)

Last time I taught SEM, I wondered if I was heaping on so many warnings and caveats that the message started to veer into, “Don’t use SEM.” I hope that is not the case. SEM is a powerful tool when used well. I actually want the discussion of causal inference to help my students think critically about all kinds of designs and analyses. Even people who only run randomized experiments could benefit from a little more depth than the sophomore-year slogan that seems to be all some researchers (AHEM, Reviewer B) have been taught about causation.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 422 other followers

